top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines a Light on: Wiebo Grobler

Name of the piece published by BCC:


When/where was it originally published:

In a very small and limited print from Medus’s Laugh Press

early 2017 as part of an Anthology.


What is the background of the piece? What led you to write it? What’s your process?


I’m allergic to Iodine, so I can’t eat too much seafood. It got me thinking about what other foods could

be poisonous or have trace amounts of actual lethal poison in them that we consume on a daily basis.

Turns out most fruits have trace elements of cyanide in them, especially the pits. Apricots, peaches, and

cherries being the highest. So with that information, I tried to think how you could effectively get that

into something someone would eat several bites of before noticing. And all those fruits make a great

pie!


How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the piece

changed from then to now?


Ecstatic, as it was one of my first paper, genuine hold-in-your-hand stories. The story has definitely

evolved and changed (for the better) several times and I think the iteration that is with BCC is the best

one yet. Since it was first published in 2017 I have had dozens more stories published but Pie has always

held a special place in my dark heart, so I am grateful at BCC for giving it a second time around the

carousel.


Is there a specific message you'd like readers to take away from reading this piece?


Ha. No, not really – if you follow me on social media and my other stories you know most of my stuff is

pretty dark even though I’m a very happy-go-lucky guy. For Pie the story is you probably don’t know

people as well as you think you do…


Where can readers find more of your work? (Website/social media, etc)


I’m active on twitter @WieboG and Instagram @wiebogrobler and people can also read more of my

dark tales at my website Wiebo Grobler Author

23 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page