top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines a Light on: Anita Goveas

Name of the piece published by BCC:


When/where was it originally published: Loss lit


What is the background of the piece? What led you to write it? What’s your process?

This piece was written from a picture prompt of a dilapidated house, and this is where my imagination

took me


How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the piece

changed from then to now?

I wrote this story shortly after I started volunteering for the National Domestic Violence helpline, and

had training about coercive control and how difficult that can be to identify and talk about.

I’m a parent now, and when I read this piece, I think about my worry for my child and how they will

negotiate the world and who they will trust


Is there a specific message you'd like readers to take away from reading this piece?

Trust your instincts


Where can readers find more of your work?

https://coffeeandpaneer.wordpress.com/

20 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page