top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines A Light on: Everett Cruz

BCC Shines a Light On: Everett Cruz


Name of the piece published by BCC: Don’t Write Poetry


When/where was it originally published: Morning Fruit Magazine, July 2022


How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the piece

changed from then to now?


I wrote this last year. I had just started submitting my work, so I was navigating various literary journals

and following them on Twitter. I came across a conversation between a few editors sharing what they

don’t want to see in their submissions. They were adamant that they did not want to read another piece

about bees, wind, or gardens. I understood why they would feel that way. They likely read many poems

and stories that use this imagery, but it bummed me out. I’m a big gardener. I learned to love myself

while loving my garden.

So, the next day I was outside in my garden, pruning the tomatoes and watching the bees bumbling

about, when the first verse hit me. I punched some of the lines into my Notes app. I alternated between

working in the garden and working on the draft. I didn’t invent images for this poem. I focused on

creating the speaker and the poem’s form and just pulled images from around me.

I wanted to capture how it felt in the garden, knowing how much the very images the editors didn’t

want to see in their submissions were the ones that gave me the most reflection. So, the speaker does

that for me. The negation was intended to create tension/expectation with their repetition before diving

deeper into the speaker’s mother, leading to the disruption of the form.


Is there a specific message you'd like readers to take away from reading this piece?


Find a quiet space in your life that surrounds your physical self with your emotional self and explore it.


Where can readers find more of your work? (Website/social media, etc)


I’ve been published by Resurrection Magazine, Five South, The Bitchin’ Kitsch, and others. Stanza

Cannon published some of my spoken word work. I’m going to be published in the upcoming anthology,

“Dear Human at the Edge of TIme.”


Twitter @EverettCruzIsOk

Instagram @EverettCruzisOK

15 views

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe here to get our latest posts

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
bottom of page