top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines A Light on: Gemma Elliott

BCC Shines a Light On:

Gemma Elliott


Name of the piece published by BCC:


When/where was it originally published:

The Babel Tower Notice Board in September 2020.


What is the background of the piece? What led you to write it? What’s your process?

I might be romanticising the past, but I think I wrote this in a fit and a rush and submitted it to Babel

Tower straight after finishing. Glasgow was still pretty much locked down at that time, and I was

furloughed from a job I wasn’t loving anymore, so I started writing strange twists on the mundane to

keep myself amused.


How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the piece

changed from then to now?

Natural Bodies was the first writing I’d ever had accepted for publication, and only the second or third

I’d submitted anywhere, so I felt very validated. I was sad when the website shut down because it was

still a piece I was proud of, so I’m thrilled that Bulb Culture Collective have put it back out there.


Is there a specific message you would like readers to take away from reading this piece?

I guess just to find the unexpected in the everyday.


Where can readers find more of your work? (Website/social media, etc)

I’m on Twitter @drgemmaelliott

8 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page