top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines A Light on: Sam Moe

BCC Shines a Light On:

Sam Moe


Name of the piece published by BCC:


When/where was it originally published:

Diphthong Mag, 2022


What is the background of the piece? What led you to write it? What’s your process?

I wrote this piece during a period where I was uncertain how I felt about surrealism in my work. When I

write, I’m usually scrolling through Twitter and Tumblr for inspiration from other writers and artists. I

wrote this piece by hand, in one of my journals, and let it become a stream-of-consciousness prose

poem before revising the language so there was a coherent narrative. I also try to draw up memories

when I write, so there are a lot of memories from different points in my life that are stitched together to

create this piece.


How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the piece

changed from then to now?

I was excited that the piece found a home since I tend to get into multiple rounds of revision that usually

don’t stop until a piece is accepted. I’m still writing surreal prose poems, but I’ve started experimenting

with free-verse and trying to carve away some of the metaphor to figure out what I’m really trying to

say. I think I wrote this piece during a time when I wanted to prove that surrealism was valuable (to me)

and important, and I could use it to give language to memories I found too painful to write about

without distractions (or distracting images like angels and halos and disco balls).


Is there a specific message you'd like readers to take away from reading this piece?

I think I want readers to take away that they should/can be reckless with their metaphor, and honest

about the ways they see/move through the world (and sometimes I move through the world in a surreal

way, so in some ways this piece is very honest and it’s important to me to acknowledge that).


Where can readers find more of your work? (Website/social media, etc)

I’m still in the process of making a website, so for now twitter and Instagram are good ways to find more

of my work! Both handles are @SamAnneMoe

22 views

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe here to get our latest posts

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
bottom of page