top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines A Light on: Thomas Dunne

Name of the piece published by BCC:



When/where was it originally published:


Bohemian Chronicle, (Key Largo, FL) 1994


What is the background of the piece? What led you to write it? What’s your process?


I had recently finished the novel, Trinity, by Leon Uris. I am two generations removed from

Ireland, so the book’s story line really took hold of me. At that time I was a common

laborer – factory worker, truck driver, etc. I had little understanding of literature in

general, or poetry in particular. I was just beginning my own, self-prescribed

apprenticeship in the Arts.


The poem just flowed out of me – I consider it more of a chant or a song than a poem. I did

not know about meter and didn’t care about rhyming. The one thing I did feel, quite

strongly and naturally is pulse. Anyone who feels strongly about the Irish/English thing, is

rebellious by nature, and feels completely helpless about that situation will appreciate this

poem/song and what it conveys.


How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the

piece changed from then to now?


This was one of my first pieces ever to be published and I was elated and encouraged by the

acceptance. The going rate, then, for a poem was two dollars. The Bohemian Chronicle sent

a check to me and I felt embarrassed about taking money for writing some words on paper

(yes, I printed it and mailed it via the US Mail). I tore the check in half and mailed it back

to them with a note thanking them profusely for publishing it; to me, that was payment

enough.


Is there a specific message you'd like readers to take away from reading this piece?


The message is clear for those who understand the “Troubles”. It seems the issue will never

be resolved, and my poem is, in the most simple term, an Irish lament.


Where can readers find more of your work? (Website/social media, etc)


Twitter: @TomLDunne

6 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page