top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines A Light On: Charles Haddox

Name of the piece published by BCC:

When/where was it originally published:

Cat on a Leash Review, 2018

What is the background of the piece? What led you to write it? What’s your process?

I think that the germ of this piece was a conversation I had with a patient outside of a dialysis center in

our neighborhood. The part about the woman who needed a ride home actually happened one day

when I was with my late father. Like most of the stories I write, it’s a mixture of reality and storytelling. I

often write about my very colorful neighborhood.

How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the piece

changed from then to now?

I was honored to have it originally published in Cat on a Leash Review, which was associated with a

Chicago writers’ group. But I’m equally thrilled that it was also published in Bulb Culture Collective. I still

like it a lot and am surprised how well it captures my memories of Parral, Mexico.

Is there a specific message you'd like readers to take away from reading this piece?

I hope that everything I write has the same message: that every person is precious and special and that

all of us need a place where we can feel welcomed, respected, and loved. This story is also about the

idea of home as the place where we come from, and the place where we experience community now.

Also, to quote the philosopher and poet Novalis, “Where are we going? Always home.”

Where can readers find more of your work? (Website/social media, etc)

14 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page