top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines A Light On: Kristin Garth

Name of the piece published by BCC:

When/where was it originally published:

Moonchild Magazine

What is the background of the piece? What led you to write it? What’s your process?

I wrote my piece pondering a relationship I had with a male writer and the dynamic of being both a peer in this field and also having this intense sexual dynamic. It made me think of other writers who were also romantically involved like Plath and Hughes. The thought behind the sonnet was that even though the relationship was extinct their words could still be intermingled in a volume and what that feels like to see your words next to someone you with whom you were once so intertwined.

How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the piece changed from then to now?

I feel the desperate longing of this poem now and it takes me back to that feeling with that person which, to me, means I did my job with the writing. It makes me really happy to re-read it for this reason.

Is there a specific message you'd like readers to take away from reading this piece?

I would like people to remember their own fleeting but intense relationships and also to be inspired to write. I hope that the piece relays that words have far more longevity than human emotions or humans themselves.

Where can readers find more of your work? (Website/social media, etc).

I have a website at kristingarth.com where my own poetry journal Pink Plastic House a tiny journal resides as well as my writing. Also I have a substack where I share new things on nearly a daily basis. You can subscribe to that at https://kristin3o160.substack.com/?utm_medium=web




11 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page