top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines A Light On: Matthew McGuirk

Name of the piece published by BCC:



When/where was it originally published:


“Crudely Crafted Characters” was originally published by

Sparrow’s Trombone in October of 2021. It is also part of my Alien Buddha Press Collection, “Daydreams, Obsessions, Realities” which was published in November of 2021.


What is the background of the piece? What led you to write it? What’s your process?


The poem came to me when I was drawing with chalk on the deck with one of my daughters. I’m not much of an artist, but

she didn’t seem to care too much, but out of those drawings came the title and inspiration for “Crudely

Crafted Characters” the poem. From there my mind just did what it does and the poem came out in a

short period of time and it looked pretty close to what it does now or did when it was published in my

book or in Sparrow’s Trombone originally.


How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the piece

changed from then to now?


I was happy, as I always am when pieces drop. I think this one has a bit of a surreal edge to it, which are

always fun to create. I would be more interested in hearing from people that have read it independent

of other pieces online and then in my collection as well and see if the piece speaks to them differently in

those two contexts. To answer the question though, I’m still very happy with the piece and don’t see

much change in that mindset.


Is there a specific message you'd like readers to take away from reading this piece?


I never really try and tell the readers what to think, but I hope it is a piece that they enjoy reading and I hope some people

went back to it a second time or third!


Where can readers find more of your work? (Website/social media, etc)


Twitter: @McguirkMatthew

Instagram: @mcguirk_matthew


If they want to see some work collected up, picking up either of my two collections is greatly

appreciated and would give them a pretty good scope of what I do!


20 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page