top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines a Light on: Melissa Nunez

Name of the piece published by BCC:


When/where was it originally published:

eucalyptus & rose in June 2021


What is the background of the piece? What led you to write it? What’s your process?

I wrote this piece at a time when I was transitioning from sole internal reflection to extending that

meditation outward in connection with my environment. Much of my intrigue with the natural

world—the birds and plants native to my home—began or deepened on the walks taken with my family

during our time sheltering in place in 2020. The image of the whistling ducks stuck with me and really

worked well to demonstrate the work I was doing to break negative thought patterns and garner

acceptance of myself as enough for both me and my children. When it comes to my nature-inspired

pieces, I love taking pictures of interesting images, the ones that spark ideas on first sight. I reference

the pictures while drafting to help focus on mentally recreating the moments I want to capture on the

page and build from there.


How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the piece

changed from then to now?

This piece was one of my earliest acceptances for publication, and I was very proud to have it out in the

world. It was necessary motivation to keep moving forward with my writing. I was saddened at the news

the publication would no longer be active or even available online (it happens more often than we

would like), but I am very grateful for magazines like Bulb Culture Collective that offer opportunities for

previously published work. I am so happy to have a new platform to continue promoting the positive

outlook developed within the piece.


Is there a specific message you'd like readers to take away from reading this piece?

I would love for readers to make a similar positive connection with their own situations. I feel like many

of us require so much of ourselves and try to meet outside expectations that are fairly impossible. I’d

love for my words to help readers take a deep breath and decide on accepting themselves in that

moment and look to the best of their current season of life.


Where can readers find more of your work?

I am on Twitter @MelissaKNunez. I also have a website: www.melissaknunez.com.

13 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page