top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines a Light on: Mike Hickman

Name of the piece published by BCC:


When/where was it originally published:

Dwelling Literary


What is the background of the piece? What led you to write it? What’s your process?

“Farmhouse” is one of my favourite pieces (of mine, of course! I have many other favourites by other

writers). I would have written it in response to a Dwelling Literary prompt – each one of their prompts

was to do with houses, as I recall – and farmhouse would have immediately made me think of my time

working at ADAS Bridgets as an Assistant Scientific Officer in the gap between my A-levels and the

beginning of my undergraduate degree. It was a very few weeks, really, in the grand scheme of things,

but it was – and remains – my favourite job because of the kindness of the friend who had offered me

the opportunity. A story very like the one in “Farmhouse” happened to me. There might well be some

truth in the story of the water butts and the driving lesson that resulted in a soaking. Elements like

“capiche,” though – that’s me adding to the piece. And the EMDR and “safe place” material comes from

a period of my life two decades on. I have undertaken EMDR but I didn’t use that place when asked to

choose somewhere to return to when the traumatic memories got too much – it occurred to me, as I

thought about my response to the Dwelling prompt, that I wish I had.

As for my process – I think “Farmhouse” is a good example of what I try to do in taking one memory or

aspect of my life and then combining it without something else entirely to create something distinctive

or at least new. I carry a notebook everywhere and I write every day. I’m in the middle of a period of

writing a piece every day for Medium, for example, because I like to take flashes of inspiration and flesh

them out into whole pieces. And I very much hope that every piece improves my writing still further.


How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the piece

changed from then to now?

My thoughts haven’t changed, although I would be interested in doing more with the EMDR idea.

Obviously, in a 1000 word piece, there is a lot that has to be left unsaid – which is also good for the

reader, too, so that they can bring something of themselves to the piece. I do think, though, that the

piece could be expanded by considering further why this memory would be so important to our

protagonist. What else has happened to him in his life for him to want to go back to that farm? Or,

rather, what did not happen to him?


Is there a specific message you’d like readers to take away from reading this piece?

The value of small acts of kindness even many years later. They can help in the darkest times.


Where can readers find more of your work?

Although I am thinking of moving on after Elon Musk’s purchase of Twitter, I am still currently there as

@MikeHicWriter. I am on Medium as @sirhenryatrawlinsonend – I’ve written approximately 200 pieces

for various Medium publications over the last year. My work has also been published by publications as

diverse as Red Fez, Bandit, the Daily Drunk, Nymphs, Sledgehammer, Winamop and Roi Fainéant Press.

7 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page