top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines A Light on: nat raum

BCC Shines a Light On:


nat raum


Name of the piece published by BCC:



When/where was it originally published:


with confetti, issue 1


What is the background of the piece? What led you to write it? What’s your process?


This piece was written after I began a new relationship and had finally started to feel happiness with

another person after a long history of bad relationships. The first “line” is based on something my

partner said to me when we were first talking, and the rest imagines a scene of us together. That’s the

other funny thing about this piece–I wrote a lot of the pieces in this “series” when we were courting

each other virtually due to the pandemic.


To speak to the style… yeah, I don’t know. Around this time in my writing practice, I was exploring

spacing and formatting as a means of crafting a poem with minimal to no punctuation. I’ve since fallen

back in love with punctuation and my work has changed a lot, but I often wish I still wrote like this

sometimes.


How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the piece

changed from then to now?


This was a meaningful piece to me at the time and has only continued to be meaningful. That said, I

think seeing this piece republished is more meaningful now, since this was one of my very first

publications of writing originally (I’d published my art before a good bit, though). And as I mentioned

before, my work has changed a lot, so I’m glad this piece still means a lot to me. I think it can be easy to

bury your old work or think that you should no longer be proud of it because you’ve evolved or grown.

I’m glad I don’t feel that very much.


Is there a specific message you'd like readers to take away from reading this piece?


Not so much a message, but I think this piece is a testament that it’s okay to play with conventions in

your work.


Where can readers find more of your work? (Website/social media, etc)


@gr8earlofhell on Instagram and Twitter, and on the web at natraum.com.

12 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page