top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

Fifteen by Robin Kinzer

The front door yawns open, a cavernous mouth

that spits us into the street. Midnight’s pulse

throbs at my back. My parents lie fast asleep,

as we glide, easy as angelfish, into the velvety

dark of the forest across the street from my house.


You squeeze my sweating palm to yours, and we

push through the trees, toward the highway. I clutch

a kitchen knife, sharp twist of steel, in my right-hand

pocket. When I glance over at you, your lips flash

at me, red as the slick innards of a raspberry beignet.


We walk so close together that your fishnets, blue, snag

on mine, black. You laugh, and the sound is so sweet,

I imagine squirrels and raccoons coming out of hiding

to walk alongside us. As I untangle our stockings, the highway

shimmers into view, a luminous strip of asphalt dotted


with the occasional six-wheel truck. A streetlight slants

into the night, and beneath it, we can see the long

shadows of two teenage boys. Waiting for us. I grip

your hand, but you lunge forward. You seem to know

who they are; seem to expect them. Their laughter

cracks through the night, and they sound like nothing


so much as hyenas. You let go of my hand, and gallop

down the shoulder of the road. Your red hair streams

behind you in a curtain of tangled curls, all at once

flashing bright like blood beneath the streetlamps.

This was supposed to be the first night I kissed you.

I turn away, back towards the forest. I don’t let go


of the knife in my pocket, not even for a single second.


Originally published by Beyond Queer Words, 2022


Here's a bit about Robin Kinzer: I'm a queer, disabled poet, memoirist, and editor. I've worked primarily in the mental health field, most recently as a crisis counselor with LGBTQ+ youth. I've also been a veterinary assistant, a bookseller, a theatre teacher, a pinup girl, a photographer, and a communist beaver in a PBS documentary. I'm now an MFA candidate at The University of Baltimore. I have poems and essays recently published, or shortly forthcoming, in Little Patuxent Review, Wrongdoing Magazine, fifth wheel press, Delicate Friend, Kissing Dynamite, The Bitchin’ Kitsch, Ice Queen Magazine, Defunkt Magazine, and others. I serve as a Poetry Editor for the winnow magazine, and am taking over as the Poetry Editor for The Broadkill Review in January. My short memoir, “Onion Grass in February”, recently won second place in Blood Orange Review’s Emerging Writer’s Contest. Exciting stuff! I love muppets, vintage fashion, radical kindness, Ferris wheels, and glitter. I have three floofy cats named Sushi, Edamame, and Ice Cream Muffin. I can be found on Twitter at @RobinAKinzer and at www.robinkinzer.com


42 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page