top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

Oiled by Mona Mehas

In the morning, I left my lodge to look for food

Not finding any, I ventured further

The water became thick; my feet grew heavy

I couldn’t see anything underneath me

I swam farther; the water was murkier

My wings were too heavy to fly

Preening gave me a bitter, oily taste that made me sick

I found only dead fish covered with that oily bitterness

Growing weaker, I lacked the strength to return home

Dizziness overcame me

My eyes were covered in – what?

I could barely see through the grimy film

So tired…I closed my eyes

And lay on my side to rest for a while.


Then hands were on me

Desperate to flee

Afraid for my life

Squawking, flapping my heavy wings

I lie exhausted in their hands

They put me in a plastic tub, and I succumbed to sleep.


I woke with more hands touching me

Their voices were gentle as they cleaned my feathers

They removed the black stuff from my eyes and nose

They put me in a cage and carried me

To clean water.


I smelled the greens floating on top

They lowered me to the ground, and I waded in

I drifted off with life swimming underneath me.

I made a new lodge

No others of my kind were there

Until the hands with gentle voices brought another.


Originally published by Gaian Voices 2010


Mona Mehas (she/her) writes about growing up poor, accumulating grief, and climate change. A retired, disabled teacher in Indiana, USA, she’s at her laptop most days with two old cats as chaperones. Previously, Mona used the pseudonym Patience Young. She’s published in Last Stanza Poetry Journal, Words & Whispers, Grim and Gilded, Militant Thistles, and others. In 2020, she watched every Star Trek show and movie in chronological order. @Patienc77732097 on Twitter.

55 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page