top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

Services at a Later Date - Robin Wright

Services at a Later Date


I pick blue hydrangeas

from my yard. Don’t know

what to do with them.

Arrange them in a vase, press

them in a book, release them

at the riverbank? My friend,

Gloria, gone six months.

Online obituary still says,

Services at a later date.


I pull off some petals, toss them

in the grass, wave stems

like impotent wands.

More petals fall. The ground

is loose and damp. I claw

the soil, bury what’s left

of the flowers, push

my palms together, pretend

I know how to pray.


Originally published by Lost River Literary Magazine 2016


Robin Wright lives in Southern Indiana. Her work has appeared in or is forthcoming in As it Ought to Be, Loch Raven Review, One Art, Young Ravens Literary Review, Spank the Carp, The New Verse News, Bombfire Lit, Rat’s Ass Review, Muddy River Poetry Review,Sanctuary, and others. She is a Pushcart Prize nominee, and her first chapbook, Ready or Not, was published by Finishing Line Press in October of 2020.

41 views

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe here to get our latest posts

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
bottom of page