top of page
  • Writer's pictureBulb Culture Collective

BCC Shines A Light on: Mona Mehas

Name of the piece published by BCC:



When/where was it originally published:


Gaian Voices, a print journal no longer in publication in 2010,

under an old pseudonym.


What is the background of the piece? What led you to write it? What’s your process?


I'd seen a news story about yet another oil spill. That became known as the Gulf Oil Spill (2009). I'm drawn to the plight

of animals and was compelled to write.


How did you feel when it was first published and how have your thoughts or feelings on the piece

changed from then to now?


I loved the journal, Gaian Voices. It was published by a woman basically in her home. This was one of my first publications and it was obvious but I was happy to be published. For me to send it to BCC, I cleaned it up a little.


Is there a specific message you'd like readers to take away from reading this piece?


Some people don't believe that animals have feelings or social lives. I hope the bird's heart and soul come through in my

poem, Oiled.


Where can readers find more of your work? (Website/social media, etc)


All my work can be found by following my links: linktr.ee/monaiv

6 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page